CITY DEPARTMENTS : CITY CLERK-TREASURER : LICENSE INSTRUCTIONS
Bartender & Taxi Driver License Application Instructions
1. Complete all areas of application, and remember to sign where indicated.
2. Submit application and proper license fee in person to:
   City Clerk-Treasurer
   625 - 52nd St., Room 105
   Kenosha, Wisconsin 53140
3. Checks or money orders must be made payable to the City of Kenosha. There is an additional fee to use debit/credit cards.
4. If you do not file a true, correct or complete application, or you have an adverse (i.e. arrests, citations, etc.) police record your license may be:

   a. Granted by Common Council with demerit points or;
   b. Denied by Common Council.

If you have difficulty recalling your police record, please obtain a copy from the Police Department, 1000-55th Street, or the proper authorities in locations where you have previously resided.
5. After filing, your application will be forwarded to the Police Department, so that they may do a police record check:

If you have NOTHING ADVERSE (i.e. arrests, citations, etc.) on your police record, the license will be mailed to you in approximately 2-4 weeks. If you would rather pick up your license, you may call or email to find out which meeting of the Common Council your application will be presented to. (653-4020 or cityclerk@kenosha.org) If approved, the license would be available to be picked up after Noon, the day after the Common Council meeting.

If you have an ADVERSE (i.e. arrests, citations, etc.) police record, the City Clerk's Office will advise you in writing to attend a meeting of the Committee on Licensing/Permits, which meets the week before Common Council. The Committee will review your application and make a recommendation. At this meeting, the Committee Secretary will inform you of the date your application will be considered by Common Council. in any material respect, it may be denied and all or part of the fee forfeited per 1.225 of the Code of General Ordinances (City of Kenosha).

6. If your license application is denied by Common Council or you choose to withdraw your application, all or part of the fee may be forfeited per 1.225 of the Code of General Ordinances.

1.225 ADMINISTRATIVE CHARGE FOR PROCESSING LICENSE/PERMIT APPLICATIONS
The first Twenty-five ($25) Dollars of the application fee for any License Permit shall be retained by the City in the event of a License/Permit denial or the withdrawal of the application by applicant for administrative and processing costs and the balance, if any, refunded to the applicant. Where the application fee is less than Twenty-five ($25) Dollars the entire application fee shall be retained by the City for administrative and processing costs
7. Bartenders: Proof of completion of the Responsible Beverage Server Course or proof of possession of a retail alcohol beverage license or an operator's or manager's license in Wisconsin within the past two years must be provided to the City Clerk. Your license may be granted, but not issued if this has not been received. Approved courses include the training course given by T.I.P.S., C.A.R.E., Wisconsin National Restaurant Association, the Professional Bartending School of Wisconsin, or a Wisconsin vocational, technical, and adult education facility. In the City of Kenosha, the class is offered at Gateway Technical College, 3520-30th Avenue, (262)564-2400 www.gateway.tec.wi.us.
8. Any past due municipal court fines must be paid before any license is issued.
   
  If you have any questions regarding this process, please ask a clerk while submitting the application in
Room 105, or call 653-4020.
   
Peddler License Application Instructions
1. Complete all areas of application, and remember to sign where indicated.
2. Submit application, two identical color photographs (2" x 2", taken within the last six (6) months), and proper license fee in person to:
   City Clerk
   625 - 52nd St., Room 105
   Kenosha, Wisconsin 53140
3. Checks or money orders must be made payable to the City of Kenosha.There is an additional fee to use debit/credit cards.
4. After filing, your application will be forwarded to the Police Department, so that they may do a police record check. Within 72 hours beginning the next business day after filing (3 working days), a recommendation from the Police Department will be forwarded to the City Clerk.

If there is NOTHING ADVERSE (i.e. arrests, citations, etc.): Your peddler license will be processed and may be picked up or mailed at your request.

If there is SOMETHING ADVERSE (i.e. arrests, citations, etc.): Your peddler license may be denied.

If you have difficulty recalling your police record, please obtain a copy from the Police Department located at 1000 55th Street, or the proper authorities in locations where you have previously resided.
5. If you are selling food or produce, you must attach a copy of your Kenosha County food license to your application.
6. If you are utilizing a vehicle to conduct your business, you must attach a copy of your certificate of liability insurance for the vehicle and a inspection report by an Automotive Service Excellence (A.S.E.) Certified Technician, and a copy of their certification. If the vehicle contains sound amplifying equipment (example- ice cream truck-music) a copy of a Kenosha County Sound Truck application receipt is required.
7. You must attach a copy of your driver's license or state identification to your application.
8. Any past due municipal court fines must be paid before any license is issued.
9. If your license application is denied or you choose to withdraw your application, part of the fee may be forfeited per 1.225 of the Code of General Ordinances.

1.225 ADMINISTRATIVE CHARGE FOR PROCESSING LICENSE/PERMIT APPLICATIONS
The first Twenty-five ($25) Dollars of the application fee for any License Permit shall be retained by the City in the event of a License/Permit denial or the withdrawal of the application by applicant for administrative and processing costs and the balance, if any, refunded to the applicant. Where the application fee is less than Twenty-five ($25) Dollars the entire application fee shall be retained by the City for administrative and processing costs.
   
  If you have any questions regarding this process, please ask a clerk while submitting the application in Room 105, or call 653-4020.